Faces of Lesotho

Pictures from all those years ago. Heartache. Haunting. And there is more.

I shot these with a Pentax SLR and then developed the film and printed it myself in the darkroom at the National University of Lesotho, using chemicals and paper I purchased with my savings, on long and arduous trips to Bloemfontein. There was so much I didn’t know, then, about photography. I didn’t know what it meant for highlights to be “blown out” or for the tones to be slightly off. I only knew to shoot from the heart. I hope I still know that.

About Kendall

Aging drama queen (former professor of theatre) writes, takes pictures, and messes about.
This entry was posted in Lesotho. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Faces of Lesotho

  1. Anne Eberle says:

    You say: “I only knew to shoot from the heart. I hope I still know that.”

    You still know that, K! No problem.

    ~Æ

  2. suenosdeuomi says:

    Oh, those images come straight to the heart, very moving. I have no worries, you will know to tell the stories very well.

  3. Darlene Olivo says:

    Imagine how the immediacy of digital photography will bring more to the experience, for you and for your subjects. You’ve grown exponentially, and I look forward to seeing more. x0x0x Darlene.

  4. Kendall says:

    Laughing–how I do seem to ask for reassurance, and then, good friends that you are, you dish it right up. So I will shut the f*** up and get on with things.

  5. Kim Sharp says:

    I would be surprised if you forgot! Your art is inborn and therefore always at your fingertips.

  6. Keith says:

    It sometimes takes photographers a lifetime to learn what you know intuitively; and some never learn it. As Cartier-Bresson famously said: “Photography is nothing–it’s life that interests me.” If one is genuinely interested in life, even the most rudimentary technical skills will enable one to capture images that sing ‘humanity’. Great work !!!

  7. leiflife says:

    Dearest K… So beautiful… And yes… You certainly still know how to shoot from the heart. And everything else from the heart.

  8. Bob in SF says:

    Another reason that your photos are so real is that they seem to be saying “I’d like to to meet my friend” instead of the kind of picture that we’ve all seen that says “look at this weird scene”. I look forward to meeting more of your friends.

  9. Kim Sharp says:

    Would you mind if I attempt to reproduce one of your photos in watercolor? There is a face of a woman that I would love to try.
    Kim

  10. Pat Hathaway says:

    Wonderful faces! You will always shoot from the heart, Kendall. That wasn’t looking for reassurance–it was an important, vital observation about how art is done.

Leave a Reply

