Difficulties

The 10,000 students are back from their break. The computer system, rickety as it is, is taxed beyond its capacity. It has taken over 40 minutes for me to get this page open. Cannot get to email at all. Facebook completely out of the question. Flickr and Blip beyond imagination. If and when I can get computer service again, I will say more. But while I have the opportunity, let me just say there are good reasons why most Basotho have never seen the ocean. Enormous difficulty finding a way to get there from here. Am not sure it will happen. Thanks for your comments–and please, give all your compassion to the people here. I am here to bear witness, and as I do that, I have feeling; but my feeling is not what matters now. It is theirs I want to bring to light.

Have been reading a perfectly wonderful book by Sebastian Barry, The Secret Scripture (2008). I close with this quotation from that book: “I suppose we measure the importance of our days by those few angels we spy among us, and yet aren’t like them.”

About Kendall

Aging drama queen (former professor of theatre) writes, takes pictures, and messes about.
This entry was posted in Lesotho. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Difficulties

  1. Ann says:

    And you do bear witness, bless you Kendall, and you do bring the Basotho people’s suffering to our minds. All my compassion to them and my sincere hopes that some of them will see the Ocean before they “go home”. And some of us will see the angels and be like them.

  2. Kendall says:

    Oh wonderful! This much got through. I thought it had been lost. Thank you for your understanding, your words, your tender thoughts and feelings.

  3. leiflife says:

    I have seen the difficulties coming, have felt you being challenged to overcome. Yet I do have faith in your presence there, and the good you can do, even in modest ways. I shall pray for the trip to the ocean, and for your ongoing blog – your bearing witness. I know this means a great deal to you: the telling of the story – conveying the lives and the feelings of those you so care about. May the unrecognized angels be borne aloft on the power of your words. May your compassionate heart be blessed by a measure of joy as it aches for others.

  4. Ann says:

    Ditto Leif 🙂
    May the angels look after you and M’eMpho, M’e MaAnna and the others. And may you see the Ocean.

  5. It’s a bit of a distance to the Arabian Sea, and not much of a road by the look of it. You’re going to need all your gritty perseverance here Kendall, so all the best. All I can say, from dipping my toes into that translucent turquoise water on the other side, is that it’s worth the effort. Careful of the sharks though, they’re more palpable than the angels…..

    • Kendall says:

      We were headed for the Indian Ocean, Stephen. Not the Arabian Sea. But when I wrote this, we might as well have been headed for Atlantis, it seemed so unlikely that we would get there. And yet, as you know now, we did.

  6. Jett Brooks says:

    Love and blessings to you, Kendall. We’re home safe & sound (and glad to be here!). Hope your trip is as rewarding as ours was.

  7. Christine Johnson says:

    My heart is with you, for I feel your despair for their hopes and prayers… be safe my friend x

  8. Keith says:

    I’m sure that the simple fact of your going there to visit made them feel that they are not alone in the world and while material comforts are important, there is nothing worse in life than feeling that you are alone.

Leave a Reply

